1. Home
  2. Content Management
  3. What is Draft Page Locking?

What is Draft Page Locking?

Background

Draft Page Locking is an optional Workflow Management setting that determines who is able to edit a page draft.

When a Draft is locked by a User, only they will be able to edit that draft, until the User unlocks it.

How to enable Draft Page Locking

  1. Navigate to Administration > Site Management > Site Settings.
  2. Under Workflow Management, click Enable Draft Page Locking.
  3. Determine the default locked/unlocked state of new drafts when creating a new page and when creating a new version.
  4. Click the blue SAVE button at the bottom of the page.

How to Lock/Unlock Drafts

  1. Navigate to the Draft you wish to Lock/Unlock.
  2. In the Content Management panel, click the toggle in the Draft Lock Status.
  3. If unlocked, you will lock the draft. If locked and you have the right to unlock it, it will unlock.

Frequently Asked Questions

Why to use Draft Page Locking

Draft Page Locking is used to avoid multiple Users editing the same Page at the same time, to avoid saving over each other’s work.

Can I unlock Drafts locked by other users?

Only Users with the Unlock Locked Drafts Right have the ability to unlock other User’s locked Drafts.

Updated on June 2, 2025
Was this article helpful?
Need Support?
Can't find the answer you're looking for?
Contact Support